About Denmark

Denmark is the smallest of the Scandinavian countries and has a population of 5.6 million people. It has been an independent country since the 10th century and is thus one of the oldest states in Europe.  


The Kingdom of Denmark consists of Denmark, the Faroe Islands and Greenland. Only Denmark is a member of the European Union.

  • Capital: Copenhagen
  • Population: 5.6 million (2014)
  • Population as of % of EU population: 1.1% (2014)
  • Major language: Danish
  • Major religion: Christianity

Denmark is a parliamentary constitutional monarchy, that means it has a royal head of state.

  • Queen: Margrethe II
  • Prime Minister: Lars Løkke Rasmussen

Lars Løkke Rasmussen was elected in June 2015 and is head of a minority government consisting only of his liberal centre-right Venstre government.

  • Currency: Danish krona, DKK

Imports and exports of goods and services make up for over 60 pct. of the country's GDP. The vast majority of foreign trade is with other countries in the EU. Other important partners are Norway and the USA.

  • Member of the European Union since 1 January 1973
  • 13 Danish members of the European Parliament
  • Danish EU Commissioner: Margrethe Vestager, Commissioner for competition
  • 9 representatives in the Committee of Regions, the EU's assembly of regional and local representatives.
  • Denmark pays about 1 pct. of its GDP into the EU's budget. This is about 2.8 billion Euro or 498 Euro per citizen. In 2013, Denmark received circa 1.4 billion Euro in EU funding. That means, Denmark pays more into the EU budget than it receives.
  • 73 pct. of the EU funding in 2013 for Denmark was spent on agriculture subsidies and rural development.


Call us!
+45 3337 3337